Not only does the state’s uninsured motorist rate have a substantial impact on insured motorists’ vehicle insurance premiums, the odds of being involved in a crash with an uninsured motorist is 1 in 8. This could leave you paying for your property damage, physical injuries, and additional expenses out of pocket — unless you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Insurance companies must make uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage available to all vehicle owners who are purchasing insurance coverage in Georgia. The insurance company can only remove the coverage from a policy when the policyholder waives it in writing.
Here is why you should not decline this important coverage.
Why is Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage So Important?
Under Georgia law, all motorists are required to have liability coverage of no less than $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
If you are injured in a collision where the negligent driver who caused the crash only has the minimum required coverage, you can only pursue it up to the maximum policy limit. This means it will not matter if your injuries are serious or if your medical bills total more than $25,000. You will be left to pay the balance out of your pocket.
If you have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, you can pursue the balance of your injury expenses from your policy.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage applies in other crash circumstances that fall outside of when the at-fault party has insufficient or nonexistent insurance.
- When you are involved in a collision while walking, jogging, or bicycling.
- When you are involved in a hit-and-run accident and authorities cannot locate the at-fault driver.
We understand that suffering injuries in a collision caused by a negligent driver can turn financially catastrophic when he or she does not have enough — or any — insurance to cover your damages. We can help you pursue your uninsured/underinsured vehicle insurance policy up to its policy limits, so you can move forward with confidence.